Poetry Book Awards – Winners!

Jocelyn Simms Wins The International Poetry Book Awards

The contest organisers have announced the winners of their prestigious contest, judged by Welsh poet and writer Dave Lewis, and the overall winner was Jocelyn Simms for her book ‘Tickling the Dragon’.

The winners were as follows:
1st Prize          TICKLING THE DRAGON – Jocelyn Simms, France
2nd Prize         THE WOMAN WITH AN OWL TATTOOAnne Walsh Donnelly, Mayo, Ireland
3rd Prize          HEFTDavid J Costello, Wallasey, England

Judges’ comments can be viewed on the competition web site – www.poetrybookawards.co.uk

“It has been a huge privilege to have adjudicated the inaugural contest. It always amazes me how much undiscovered talent is out there. The main themes of the winners were the nuclear age, coming out in later life and man’s journey through time and place. Judging was so difficult though and three other superb collections almost made it into the top 3 as well. Detailed comments can be found on the website and we shall add to Amazon and Goodreads over the next few weeks. In our first year we’ve had entries from all around the globe – Australia, England, France, Ireland, Scotland, USA and Wales – and next year we hope to have many more.” – Dave Lewis


Jackie Biggs – Breakfast in Bed

David J Costello – Heft

Anne Walsh Donnelly – The Woman with an Owl Tattoo

Marc Goldfinger – Heroin’s Harbour

Phoebe Kalid – Everything’s Great And I’m Still Dying

Ewan Lawrie –  Last night I met John Adcock

Kathy Miles – Gardening With Deer

Elizabeth Ridout – Summon

Derek Sellen – The Other Guernica

Jocelyn Simms – Tickling the Dragon

To view the full list of winners and read the judges’ comments please visit our website.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *