Ruth Bidgood

Ruth Bidgood (1922 – 2022, E) was a poet and local historian, born at Blaendulais, near Neath.  She read English at St Hugh’s College in the University of Oxford and during World War II, she served as a Wren, as a coder in Egypt, at Alexandria. After the war she worked in London helping to prepare a new edition of Chambers’s Encyclopaedia. Her poetry is concerned with the people, landscape and seasons of mid-Wales. Resolutely untrendy, she remains outside the metropolitan elite and declines to appear in all-women anthologies.


  • The Given Time (1972)
  • Seven articles in Transactions of the Radnorshire Society (1974–1980) on Llandewi Hall
  • Not Without Homage (1975)
  • The Print of Miracle (1978)
  • Lighting Candles (1982)
  • Kindred (1986)
  • The Fluent Moment (1996)
  • Singing to Wolves (2000)
  • Parishes of the Buzzard (a local history of Abergwesyn)
  • New and Selected Poems (2004)
  • Symbols of Plenty (2006)
  • Hearing Voices (2008)
  • Time Being (2009)
  • Above the Forests (2012)
  • Land Music (2016)
  • Lights (2020)

Amazon Author Profile

back to A – B

back to Writers A – Z