Mary Heimann

Mary Heimann (1962, E) is Professor of Modern History at Cardiff University and Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.  She was educated at Vassar College (BA English and History, Phi Beta Kappa) and Magdalen College, Oxford (DPhil in Modern History).  She is best known as the author of Czechoslovakia: The State that Failed (Yale University Press, 2009; 2011), reissued as Československo: stát, který zklamal (Petrkov, 2020) and Catholic Devotion in Victorian England (Oxford University Press).  She also worked for the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.  Heimann was one of five authors, including Nobel prize-winner Orhan Pamuk, at the Prague Writers’ Festival (2013).

Website – click here.


  • Catholic Devotion in Victorian England (Oxford University Press, 1995)
  • Czechoslovakia: The State that Failed (Yale University Press, 2009; 2011)
  • Československo: stát, který zklamal (Petrkov, 2020)

Amazon Author Page

back to G – H

back to Writers A – Z